Saturday, January 16, 2010

2009 Philip K. Dick Award Nominees

Philip K. Dick Award Nominees Announced
(courtesy Karen Hellekson)

The judges of the 2009 Philip K. Dick Award and the Philadelphia SF Society, along with the Philip K. Dick Trust, are pleased to announce seven nominated works that comprise the final ballot for the award:

BITTER ANGELS by C. L. Anderson (Ballantine Books/Spectra)
THE PRISONER by Carlos J. Cortes (Ballantine Books/Spectra)
THE REPOSSESSION MAMBO by Eric Garcia (Harper)
THE DEVIL’S ALPHABET by Daryl Gregory (Del Rey)
CYBERABAD DAYS by Ian McDonald (Pyr)
CENTURIES AGO AND VERY FAST by Rebecca Ore (Aqueduct Press)
PROPHETS by S. Andrew Swann (DAW Books)

First prize and any special citations will be announced on Friday, April 2, 2010 at Norwescon 33 at the Doubletree Seattle Airport Hotel, SeaTac, Washington.

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society. Last year’s winners were EMISSARIES FROM THE DEAD by Adam-Troy Castro (Eos Books) and TERMINAL MIND by David Walton (Meadowhawk Press). The 2009 judges are Daniel Abraham (chair), Eileen Gunn, Karen Hellekson, Elaine Isaak, and Marc Laidlaw.

* * *
Congratuations, Rebecca!


Anonymous said...

Oh, wow.


Josh said...

OMG, Rebecca. Congratulations.

Carlos J Cortes said...

Congratulations, Rebecca.

Athena Andreadis said...

The only woman in the list, too.

Timmi Duchamp said...

Actually, not. "C.L.Anderson" is a (known) pseudonym for Sarah Zettel.

Rachel Swirsky said...

I'm surprised to see Bitter Angels on there. I started reading it and set it aside after what felt like a rather poor beginning. I'll have to pick it up again.