Monday, January 4, 2010

The 2006 and 2007 Carl Brandon Awards

Winners of the 2006 and 2007 Carl Brandon Awards

The Carl Brandon Society is pleased to announce the winners of our 2006 and 2007 awards.

The winner of the 2006 Carl Brandon Parallax Award is Mindscape by Andrea Hairston. [Note: No work will receive the 2006 Carl Brandon Kindred Award.]

The 2007 Carl Brandon Parallax Award winner is The Shadow Speaker by Nnedi Okorafor. The 2007 Carl Brandon Kindred Award winner is From the Notebooks of Doctor Brain by Minister Faust.

A presentation ceremony for the 2006 and 2007 awards will take place at Arisia, an annual science fiction convention held in Boston, Massachusetts. Award recipients Andrea Hairston and Nnedi Okorafor will be in attendance, and the honors lists for the 2006 and 2007 Parallax and Kindred Awards will be announced there.

Nominations for the 2008 Parallax and Kindred Awards are now closed. We will announce our winners later this year. Nominations for the 2009 Parallax and Kindred Awards will be accepted through June 1, 2010. Visit the awards page for more information.

Here on the Aqueduct, we're mighty pleased about the announcement, since Mindscape is an Aqueduct Press book. Congratulations, Andrea!

1 comment:

Nancy Jane Moore said...

And a very fine book Mindscape is, too. Congrats, Andrea!